Listen to the thunder.


Al Swearengen: “God rest the souls of that poor family… and pussy’s half price for the next 15 minutes.”

Dear Blog

How the fuck are you?… It’s been a wee while, not to say that there hasn’t been events occurring that were not worth talking about..

Au contrair, mon ami… There have been some nice highs, as well as a single crushing blow which I shall not air in public, I
must internalize it, swallow that son of a bitch and let it rot away in some forgotten repressed cupboard in my mind where I
keep all the other dark and painful shit.

On a lighter note however… I am currently stoned and sitting atop a therapeutic pressure reduction cushion ( A Mouthful I know) I gotta get me one of these for back home (Currently with a sick relative). My ass feels like it’s floating on a cloud… Or a really large woman’s ass cheeks, either way… Win-win.

The relative in question is a cousin of mine, my fathers rather …so he’s a second cousin I suppose. He is a real-life Dharmabum, 64 years of age and spent over half of it travelling the world, lived it up as a big shot executive in the corporate world and lived as a Hobo on the streets of Canada, went into an asylum a mad man and came out of the darkness again to check himself out, and now just recently back from living in Egypt. Unfortunately he was diagnosed with Cancer of the Pancreas, which there is no remedy for… I never actually met the man until he came back here penniless, my father, who had not seen him for over 30 years..took him in straight away, got him a place in the Willie Birmingham Social housing just down the road from Kilmainham, not sure how long he has left, not long I’d imagine, given how the cancer has spread, but he sure is a fascinating character, he has a tiny frame, and sort of hunched now, but there is a fierceness to his eyes that belies his meek appearance, a strength of character that is vastly more substantial than your initial impressions. I’ve spent an increasing amount of time with him of late, visiting during certain days of the week and getting whatever he needs, I have to say I like it, even if a part of him resents having to rely on help at all… Which combined with the pain he sometimes gets, manifests itself in a crankiness that would put most people off talking to him, but he really is full of amazing stories, he’s brutally honest as well..which is a quality I treasure.

Which brings me to the point of telling you about him. I know in time I’m only going to get to know him better and get attached to him ( I form attachments easily, I remember when I was a kid I became disturbingly attached to a plastic bin in my room I called “Binny” that I would have conversations with) And in time I’ll eventually have to deal with his death, which is most likely weeks or months from now, it’s tough, knowing you are setting yourself up for a fall, especially when you can Hear the Thunder.

Some of you will get the reference, and to you brave beautiful few, I salute you.

I’ve been offline due to being cut off by that shower of bastards at Eircom, but I’m back online… Finally paid the bill.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

